Delete Steve Jobs iBook and download new version, customers told

26 October, 2011 by Ben Camm-Jones
AAA
Steve Jobs

Some customers who have bought the iBook version of Walter Isaacson’s biography of Steve Jobs have received emails asking them to delete the original and download a new version.

Macworld readers reported receiving an email signed ‘iTunes Customer Experience’ sent from the address iTunesStoreSupport@apple.com in the early hours of this morning containing instructions on how to get the new version.

“Thank you for purchasing Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson. A new version of the book is available to you at no charge,” the email reads.

Recipients are invited to ensure they have the latest version of iBooks installed, then to locate the title and mark it for deletion. The next step is to tap Delete, then tap on Store and sign out of your account. Then sign back in, tap on Purchased and locate Steve Jobs, then tap the iCloud button to re-download.

Apple confirmed to Macworld that the emails were genuine and the instructions were to fix formatting problems suffered by a small number of customers who had downloaded the iBook. No changes have been made to the content.

One customer review on iTunes mentions formatting issues in the original version. “Pictures don’t load correctly and the formatting is off,” the review reads.

The biography of Steve Jobs has already revealed plenty of interesting details about the life of the Apple co-founder, as well as his future plans for the company.

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us