App Store opens in 33 new countries

Tim Grey
25 July, 2011
View more articles fromthe author

App developers can now widen their reach, with Apple opening up the App Store in 33 new territories across the world. The newly-added countries will also have access to Apple’s iCloud service once iOS 5 is released to the masses.

The list of newly-apped countries is as follows: Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua, and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, Montserrat, Nigeria, Oman, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Uzbekistan, Yemen

Developers can make their iOS and Mac apps available in these new countries by going to the Contracts, Tax, and Banking module in iTunes Connect and accept the latest Paid Applications agreement.

At the time of writing more than 500,000 apps were available on the App Store that had been downloaded over 15 billion times, although that number has undoubtedly shot up since then.

One Comment

One person was compelled to have their say. We encourage you to do the same..

  1. Aldo Ellul says:

    very disappointed. i mean, look at the new countries a lot of them aren’t even EU countries. malta is not there. are we nuts?? we need itunes to be available in malta.

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us