iOS 7: How to use Activation Lock in iOS 7

Nick Mediati
24 September, 2013
View more articles fromthe author
AAA
Help

iOS 7 is here, and it’s the most radical update that Apple’s mobile OS has ever seen. But while the overhauled interface and bold new look is getting all the attention, iOS 7 comes with a bucketload of new features and enhancements that make it easier to use and more secure.

The new features are easy to use, but Apple’s radical overhaul of the iOS interface has made some of them a little tricky to find. We’ll show you how to locate and get the most out of 10 handy new features in iOS 7 – some of which you might not have even known existed.

How to use Activation Lock in iOS 7

If you ever lose your phone or tablet, iOS 7′s Activation Lock feature could potentially save you some angst by locking out would-be thieves. When you erase your lost phone through Apple’s Find My iPhone tool, iOS 7 will not only erase your data from the phone, but it will also require a thief – or whoever happens to find your lost phone – to enter your Apple ID and password in order to use the phone in any capacity. This effectively turns your lost, erased iPhone into a glorified glass-and-metal paperweight.

There’s not much you need to do to set up Activation Lock. If you associated your iPhone with an iCloud account, odds are you’re all set to go. To make sure that your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch are set up for Activation Lock and Find My iPhone, go to the Settings app and tap iCloud.

From there, scroll down until you see Find My iPhone, and make sure the slider is set in the On position (the round slider will be to the right, and green).

Find My iPhone.

To lock or erase your phone or tablet, go to iCloud.com on your computer and sign in with your Apple ID and password. Once logged in, select Find My iPhone, then select Devices and select your device. Find My iPhone will track down your device’s location, and it will give you the option to play a sound (useful if you lost your phone in the couch cushions), put your phone into ‘lost mode’ (which lets you protect your phone with a PIN and put a message on the lock screen), or to erase your device completely, which puts it in Activation Lock mode.

by Nick Mediati, TechHive

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us