Sharing photos on Facebook

Steve Paris
8 April, 2011
View more articles fromthe author

iPhoto is really all about sharing your images. The cataloguing and editing features are just there to make it easier to find the shots you want and make them look their best, but if all your photo library did was remain on your computer, it would be as useful as the stacks of old photographs stored in that shoebox in your closet.

Over the years, more features have been added to this program, culminating in the first Facebook integration in iPhoto ’09, prior to this you needed a Facebook plug-in. iPhoto ’11 has expanded this ability, giving you much greater access to Facebook without ever needing to launch your web browser.

1. Choose a photo Launch iPhoto and look for an image you’d like to upload to Facebook. It can be from one of your albums, or any of the top menus in your sidebar (like Events, Photos, Faces or Places). Once you’ve found the right one, select it, then click on the Share button at the lower right of the interface.

2. Log in Select Facebook from the menu to reveal a drop-down sheet. Type in your account details, make sure you tick the ‘I agree to Facebook’s terms’ box, then click on Login. After a few seconds, a new menu will appear at the bottom right of the interface, granting you access to your photos stored on Facebook.

3. Post on your wall You only need to set your username and password once. The next time you choose Facebook from the shared menu, you’ll go straight to the various upload options. With your image still selected, choose Wall to post it. You can add a comment via a drop-down sheet. When you are ready, click Publish.

4. Update your profile Choose another picture and go back to Facebook via the Share menu. Select Profile Picture to update your main photo. Once you’ve confirmed this action, Facebook will proceed with uploading your new shot. You can check that the last two steps worked by logging into Facebook using your browser.

5. Multiple uploads Until now you’ve been working with single images, but you can send as many photos as you like, or even entire albums. For an album to work, make sure no shots are selected in the highlighted album, and its entire content will be sent to Facebook when you choose an option in the Share menu.

6. New section As you upload pictures, you can insert them into an existing album, or create a new one (this is done via iPhoto’s main Facebook Share menu). As you do this, notice the new section in iPhoto’s sidebar called WEB. In it will be your Facebook account. Select it to see all your albums on Facebook.

7. The Facebook connection You can rename an album by clicking on its title (notice the number to the title’s right; it shows you how many photos are in that album). There’s a dark arrow in a white circle to the right of the section’s title. Click on it to launch your web browser and go to your Facebook albums page.

8. Reorder photos Back in iPhoto, double-click on a Facebook album to see the images within it. To reorder them, click and drag them around. The new order will be preserved when viewing the album online with a web browser. Be aware that these changes aren’t instantaneous, but should take less than 20 seconds.

9. Synced deletion You can also delete photos from a Facebook album straight from iPhoto by selecting one image (or more) and hitting the delete key. What you can’t do is drag a photo from one of your iPhoto albums onto your Facebook menu in the sidebar. Uploading is strictly limited to the Share menu (see step 3).

10. Online viewing As long as you’re connected to the internet, iPhoto will keep your link to your Facebook albums. This means that you can add images to one of your albums online using a different method, such as a mobile phone, and the next time you view that album in iPhoto, those images will appear there as well.

11. iPhoto preferences But what if you have more than one Facebook account, or you share your computer with friends or other members of your family? Thankfully, Apple’s engineers have considered this: start by opening the Preferences window, either by going to iPhoto > Preferences, or by using the Cmd-, shortcut.

12. Another account Select the Accounts tab and click on the plus (+) button, in the lower left of the Preferences window. You’ll be asked to choose which type of account to add. Double-click on Facebook and fill in the details, just as you did in step 2 (you can also delete accounts from that same window with the minus (-) button).

13. Different options From now on, when you click on the Share button, the usual Facebook option will have been replaced by two different ones, bearing the names of the active accounts you created (with a Facebook logo to their left). You can therefore add as many accounts as you need using the method described above.

14. Save to iPhoto The images you can see in those Facebook albums aren’t actually saved in your iPhoto library. If you’re offline, you’ll lose the ability to view them. To preserve them on your Mac, drag them from a Facebook album onto any iPhoto album, or straight into the Photos section, at the top of the sidebar.

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us