Removing Instagram, keeping photos

Macworld Australia Staff
10 April, 2012
View more articles fromthe author
AAA
Help

Since Facebook’s US$1 billion acquisition of Instagram, many of its users have started looking for the app’s emergency exit, worried that the social network will change, and potentially ruin, the photo utility.

Instagram users are concerned that when the app collects location-tagged image data after a photo is uploaded, the information could potentially transfer to Facebook’s targeted advertisements.

This, in turn, presents all sorts of privacy issues among users.

For those who wish to keep their photo libraries, while deleting your Instagramaccount/s, we have a two-step guide below to help you out.

TRANSFER IMAGES

The best (and free way) to transfer your images to a computer hard drive is via Instaport. Log in with your Instagram account and you can download your library in a .zip file onto your desktop.

DELETE YOUR ACCOUNT

To remove yourself from Instagram completely, you must delete your account. Make sure you have downloaded your images onto your computer first, then head to the Instagram Support Center and click the ‘I want to delete my account’ link.

 

In the drop-down menu select ‘Privacy Concerns’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enter your password.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click ‘I understand, deactivate my account’. And you are done.

If you encounter difficulties following these steps, tech website Mashable has provided four alternative methods to help you complete the process. See them here.

@Stewart_JL

 

One Comment

One person was compelled to have their say. We encourage you to do the same..

  1. Beatrice Beiler says:

    Really appreciate you sharing this post.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us