Previous system folder

Christopher Breen
9 April, 2011
View more articles fromthe author

I discovered a folder called Previous System on my iMac. Can I delete it?

Jacob Franks, via email

This file appears when you perform an Archive And Install installation of Mac OS. The installer places a variety of system files – such as preference files, fonts  and plug-ins – in this folder. You can’t boot your Mac from here – it’s there simply for the storage of old system files.

If your Mac performs oddly after installing a new operating system you can rummage around in this folder and retrieve the goodies you’ve lost. If you’ve run your Mac for a month or more and everything is tickety-boo, it’s safe to delete the folder.

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us