After enduring some fairly insistent prodding, I upgraded my Yahoo webmail to the latest beta version. When I logged in and took a look at it, I was surprised to find that those little notes I write to myself on my iPhone had been synced to Yahoo. How do I reclaim my notes?
Syncing with the cloud can be confusing, so I’m not surprised that you’re perplexed by what’s happened. That said, while it’s considered bad form to blame the victim, you had the power to prevent this from happening from the get-go.
When you set up a Yahoo email account on your iPhone in the Mail, Contacts, Calendars setting, after the verification step, you see a window that includes three entries – Mail, Calendars and Notes. Those On/Off toggle switches next to each entry tell your iOS device whether to sync that data with Yahoo’s website.
In your case, I’ll bet that if you choose your Yahoo account on your iPhone, you’ll find that the Notes switch is set to On. This is not the default setting, so I’m afraid that this is something you did when creating the account on your iPhone.
Fortunately, it’s easily undone. Just flick the slider to Off and your notes will no longer be synced to Yahoo. While we’re clearing up that bit of confusion, I should point out that the Sync Notes entry you find in the Info tab when selecting your iPhone in iTunes’ Source list has no effect on cloud syncing. Rather, it’s for syncing notes with your computer.