A change to EdgeRank, Facebook’s algorithm that determines what posts are seen by whom, is sparking controversy among Page administrators and Facebook users.
Some experts suggest that the changes were made to improve users’ experience by ensuring businesses and brands post more interesting, engaging content. Others say Facebook wants businesses and brands to dish out money for advertising to reach more of its audience.
Whether for improved user experience or profit, one thing is clear: Page managers report a drastic decline in user engagement and activity on their page within the last month, which means you aren’t seeing the content they post.
The good news: There is a quick fix to remedy this, but it’s not available to all users yet. In addition, Facebook confirmed this week that it’s rolling out a feature that will notify you when a friend, business or brand posts something you might be interested in.
“We are currently rolling out the ability for people to receive notifications from specific pages, friends or public figures that they are connected to,” Facebook says. “This feature will help people to keep up with the people and things that they care most about.”
Here’s what you need to know about both.
Are you seeing all Facebook posts?
To ensure you receive all updates from a business or brand you have liked, visit its Facebook page. Hover over the “Liked” button below the page’s cover photo, and a list of options will appear.
The top option is “Get Notifications.” By opting in, you’ll receive an alert in your Notifications center whenever that page posts something new. You’ll also see the alert in the bottom-left of Facebook, if you’re currently logged in.
Click the second option, “Show in News Feed,” to make sure all the page’s posts appear in your news feed.