How to delete your Google+ account

Nick Mediati
3 October, 2013
View more articles fromthe author
AAA
Help

Google+ lags behind powerhouses Facebook and Twitter in terms of popularity and, if you’re anything like me, you may find that you simply can’t deal with a third social network. If this sounds like you, you can always delete your Google+ account without saying goodbye to Google services like Gmail.

Start by logging into plus.google.com with your Google account. Next, select the thumbnail of your profile photo in the upper right corner, then select Account.

Scroll to the bottom of the page, and under the Account Management heading, you’ll notice two links: One labelled ‘Delete profile and remove related Google+ features’ and another labelled ‘Close account and delete all services and information associated with it’. The first of these links lets you delete your Google+ profile; the second lets you close your Google account altogether.

Deleting your Google account entirely will also delete your account for Google services like Gmail and YouTube, so you don’t want to touch that link unless you’re done with all things Google forever. Since you’re only concerned with deleting your Google+ account, select Delete profile and remove related Google+ features.

On the next screen, you’ll be asked whether you want to delete Google+ content (which will delete your circles and anything you’ve posted to Google+ but will preserve your profile), or whether you want to delete your Google profile entirely. Deleting your Google profile will remove you from Google+ and may prevent you from using any service that requires your profile.

Google will helpfully tell you what deleting your Google+ account will impact.

If that’s OK with you, select Delete your entire Google profile, check the box acknowledging that deleting your account can’t be reversed, then press Remove selected services.

by Nick Mediati, TechHive

Leave a Comment

Please keep your comments friendly on the topic.

Contact us