Macworld Australia

Macworld Forums: My Latest Purchase - Macworld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My Latest Purchase

#1 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 25 March 2012 - 01:39 PM

Just won this auction on Trademe. My plan at this stage is to put a 2TB HDD in it, put it down the the garage connected to the network and use it for storage, or perhaps move our iTunes Library to it for sharing with the 2 Apple TVs in the house meaning that the iMac doesn't need to stay on all of he time.

Can anyone suggest any other good uses for it?

Cheers

Jamie
0

#2 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 25 March 2012 - 02:08 PM

Wow thats sweet
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#3 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 25 March 2012 - 02:19 PM

I know it's an older model but still very pleased with it for the price, will know more about it once I arrange to go and pick it up.
0

#4 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 26 March 2012 - 05:54 PM

Picked it up today and drove it down to Rototura with me as I'm down here to visit our office here to do some work tomorrow.

Booted up in the motel this evening and happy to say that it appears to be working perfectly and it in excellent condition, the only thing it doesn't have is wireless or bluetooth but hopefully I can pick up the appropriate card for a reasonable price and it won't be too difficult to fit.
0

#5 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:14 PM

What can you run on it ? Leopard or snow leopard, and I guess you also need Rosetta, for emulation.
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#6 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:45 PM

I believe that the latest I can run on it is Leopard, came with that pre-installed (unfortunately no recover CD's so I'm a but buggered if I ever need to reinstall).

It''s a PowerPC and the maximum supported OS is 10.5.8 but as I said above I have no recovery discs so if I ever need to reinstall the OS I'm up the creek, might need to keep my eyes open for an OS disc on Trademe - unless of course someone here has one that they no longer require :-)
0

#7 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:47 PM

You may be right, it would be worth looking around to see if you can download a copy, of lion and keeping on a cd as a back up.
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#8 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 01 April 2012 - 07:28 AM

I'm trying to install a second hard disk in the machine but need to get hold of the "official" hard drive mounting screws to mount the drive securely (alternative ones don't quite hold it firm).
I've looked on the Apple Online Store and Trademe but can't find any. Does anyone know where I might source a set of these screws?
0

#9 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 01 April 2012 - 07:35 AM

Looks like I've found some on eBay, just waiting to find out how much postage will be (assuming that they will post to NZ)
0

#10 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 01 April 2012 - 09:18 AM

Are they the rubber mounted screws ?
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#11 User is offline   Dylstra 

  • Guru
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,799
  • Joined: 09-February 08

Posted 01 April 2012 - 12:11 PM

Wow! What a bargain.
You might not know it to look at me, but I'm pretty radical.

http://dylstra.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/Dylstra
http://dylstra.tent.is
0

#12 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 01 April 2012 - 03:47 PM

View PostKen Gracey, on 01 April 2012 - 12:18 PM, said:

Are they the rubber mounted screws ?


Yeah they're the ones, the have rubber grommets around the heads (sort of - that's the best way I can think to describe them).

The ones on eBay look like this http://www.ebay.ie/i...E:X:AAQ:IE:1123
0

#13 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 01 April 2012 - 03:51 PM

View PostDylstra, on 01 April 2012 - 03:11 PM, said:

Wow! What a bargain.


Yes I was very happy with it for the price, it's no speed demon but will be great as a "server" sitting down in the garage with a few TB of disk in it.
0

#14 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 01 April 2012 - 03:56 PM

6 bucks euro is not bad, that's the same price is saw them advertised In the states, earlier this morning.
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#15 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 01 April 2012 - 04:05 PM

Yeah I'm just waiting to find out postage and will then order a set
0

#16 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

  • Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 15,749
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Victoria
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 01 April 2012 - 04:27 PM

I am guessing it can't be much more than a few bucks, they weight nothing, and should be pretty straight forward freight.
Come on 20K




Ken
0

#17 User is offline   JamieD 

  • (geekus cynicus extremis)
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 28-July 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dunedin, NZ
  • Interests:I geek therefore I am!

Posted 02 April 2012 - 05:36 PM

Turns out there is already a spare set in the case near the drive bays :-) so no purchase necessary (other than a large capacity HDD to put in there)
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users