Macworld Australia

Macworld Forums: Transferring Cd To Imac - Macworld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Transferring Cd To Imac How to copy a CD into Music on my iMac

#1 User is offline   pegi 

  • Guru
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,275
  • Joined: 04-November 09
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nimbin, NSW
  • Interests:Computers ...but am no expert .

    IMAc Intel 2.9GhZ Icore i5; Ipod Classic 120GB now reconverted to Iphone5. Ipad air. Love cooking and gardening and travelling and animated discussions.

Posted 04 February 2016 - 11:10 AM

I'm stuck copying a CD into the Music app on my iMac. It's a copied music CD, and I'm using a Samsung portable DVD writer. It seems incredibly un-intuitive, and I've only found the option to 'copy CD'. It copies 8 of the 11 tracks, and a couple of the 8 are incomplete. When I try to repeat the process, there's a choice to 'replace tracks originally copied' or to 'leave copied tracks'. Is there a way of choosing individual tracks and copying those, so that I can copy across the tracks that got truncated or left out?

(BTW this is not Guru ((what a name!)) but husband Peter)
If you don't ask, there will be no answer!
Curiosity has immense benefits for all!
0

#2 User is offline   bitingmidge 

  • Guru
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,744
  • Joined: 15-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dicky Beach QLD - Moselle FR
  • Interests:The world and the things in it.

Posted 06 February 2016 - 07:01 AM

View Postpegi, on 04 February 2016 - 11:10 AM, said:

I'm stuck copying a CD into the Music app on my iMac. It's a copied music CD, and I'm using a Samsung portable DVD writer. It seems incredibly un-intuitive, and I've only found the option to 'copy CD'. It copies 8 of the 11 tracks, and a couple of the 8 are incomplete. When I try to repeat the process, there's a choice to 'replace tracks originally copied' or to 'leave copied tracks'. Is there a way of choosing individual tracks and copying those, so that I can copy across the tracks that got truncated or left out?

(BTW this is not Guru ((what a name!)) but husband Peter)


Hi Peter, say g'day to Pegi for me!

When I get stuck with stuff like that, it's usually with photos, My solution is to simply drag and drop the file I want onto the desktop and then import it into the app.

If you can see the disk image of the CD, drag the whole thing, or just the tracks you need to your desktop, then disconnect the CD. Once they are on your desktop, import them into your music app, then delete the "spare" copy from your desktop.

Let's know if that works.

Cheers,

P
0

#3 User is offline   pegi 

  • Guru
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,275
  • Joined: 04-November 09
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Nimbin, NSW
  • Interests:Computers ...but am no expert .

    IMAc Intel 2.9GhZ Icore i5; Ipod Classic 120GB now reconverted to Iphone5. Ipad air. Love cooking and gardening and travelling and animated discussions.

Posted 09 February 2016 - 07:53 AM

Thanks for the reply, Bitingmidge. Gigi says hi.

I'll try out the desk top drop and drag when I get 5 mins to spend on the mac, and I'll report back.
If you don't ask, there will be no answer!
Curiosity has immense benefits for all!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users