Macworld Forums: Help with Canon HDHF10 Mac 'compatible' scam - Macworld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Help with Canon HDHF10 Mac 'compatible' scam Cant read video files

#1 User is offline   drdeb 

• Group: Members

Posted 06 July 2009 - 07:39 PM

HI - I bought this camcorder because the box said it was mac compatible. catch is, inside the box, it is compatible with still photos ONLY as the video software is windows only . Now I have footage on the camera and SD card but cant seem to read it - I dont know where to start. Google searches are no help. Any suggestions?
thanks very much

#2 User is offline   Ken Gracey 

• Super Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrators
  • Interests:Computers & cars

Posted 06 July 2009 - 08:04 PM

I am no expert on this, but can you import it with iMovie, which comes as part if iLife on all new macs.

Tl
Come on 20K

Ken

#3 User is offline   bitingmidge 

• Guru
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Interests:The world and the things in it.

Posted 06 July 2009 - 08:59 PM

I've struck this a few times with a couple of different recorders, and I haven't solved the problem using a USB cable. The fix is simple though with a special Firewire cable.

Don't use the USB cable connection on the camera, get a Firewire cable with a small pin (I think it's a four pin) to fit the video out plug, fire up iMovie, and simply play the movie on the camera, you will be asked by iMovie if you want to import it.

I'm sorry if that's a bit simple, I can probably talk you through it but I'm no expert, having done it a few times over the last few years, and I seem to have to remember what I did last time every time I do it! You don't need any other software providing you can connect the firewire cable.

I bought the cable from Tandy for about $25.00. I'd give you more details except it found it's way to one of my kids houses only last weekend.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,

P